Society News

Russia - What a holiday today. February 8

Russia (, - Every year on February 8, Russia celebrates the Day of Russian Science. It was established by decree of President Boris Yeltsin in 1999 to mark the 275th anniversary of the establishment of the National Academy of Sciences in Russia.

In 1724, on February 8 (January 28, old style), by decree of Peter I, the Academy of Sciences and Arts was founded in St. Petersburg. Then it had different names, and in 1925 it was transformed into the Academy of Sciences of the USSR, which in 1934 was transferred from Leningrad to Moscow along with a number of scientific institutions. The successor of the USSR Academy of Sciences was the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), which was organized in 1991.

Today, the Russian Academy of Sciences is engaged in fundamental research in the field of natural, technical, medical, agricultural, social and human sciences, and also manages scientific research in the Russian Federation. Its structure includes 13 departments in the areas of science, three regional departments (Far Eastern, Siberian, Ural) and 14 regional scientific centers. Since 2017, the head of the Russian Academy of Sciences has been a physicist, academician Alexander Sergeev.

In honor of the holiday, scientific conferences, seminars, meetings with scientists, various exhibitions are held. Timed to coincide with the Day is the announcement of the winners of the Russian Presidential Prize in Science and Innovation for Young Scientists. Since 2019, the amount of each award is five million rubles. This year the jury selected three entries. Arseniy Kubryakov was awarded for his achievements in studying the dynamics of the ocean and the impact of the processes occurring in it on the marine biosphere. Alexandra Dubrovina received the award for the development of new approaches for the induction of RNA interference and the directed regulation of plant genes. Leonid Skripnikov was awarded for a series of works on the development of the theory of the electronic structure of compounds of heavy elements for the search for new physics and the study of the structure of the nucleus. The award winners will take part in a meeting of the Presidential Council for Science and Education, which will be chaired by Vladimir Putin on February 8.

Recall that last year was declared the Year of Science and Technology by decree of the President of Russia. You can read about the main scientific discoveries and breakthroughs in the special project.


For scientific achievements 15 of our compatriots were awarded the Nobel Prize. Two of them received a prize in physiology or medicine - the physiologist Ivan Pavlov (1904) and the biologist Ilya Mechnikov (1908). One became the winner of the prize in chemistry - physicochemist Nikolai Semenov (1956). 12 scientists were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics: Igor Tamm, Ilya Frank and Pavel Cherenkov (1958, for their joint discovery), Lev Landau (1962), Alexander Prokhorov and Nikolai Basov (1964), Petr Kapitsa (1978), Zhores Alferov (2000 ), Vitaly Ginzburg and Alexey Abrikosov (2003), Konstantin Novoselov and Andrey Geim (2010).

Russia - What a holiday today. February 8